Culture Monk

polar plunge 7

By Kenneth Justice

Kenneth, none of them have been supportive this entire time; they totally ignore me now that I’m clean. Yet when I was f**king up; when I was doing heavy drugs and drunk all the time they were always wanting to talk to me; both to my face and behind my back” he said

~ For the last couple years I’ve been meeting regularly with a 20-something young man at coffee who wanted to turn his life around. At fifteen he got caught up in drugs and alcohol and after a short stint in the U.S. Coastguard (which only seemed to perpetuate the chemical dependency problem) he finally realized his life was going nowhere a few years ago.

Having heard of me through mutual acquaintances he started visiting me at one of my coffee hangouts to talk about life….he simply needed a friend ‘to be there…

View original post 874 more words

