Walter Bright

When we look at the life of Jesus, it is hard not to notice his claims. The Pharisee mocked him when he called himself  “light of the world.” His followers left him when he called himself “bread of life.” Crowds denounced him when he talked about himself as the “Good Shepherd.” And when he said, “I am the resurrection and the life” – it cost him his life.

When Jews heard those two verbs I am – I am (as translated from the Hebrew), they knew exactly what Jesus meant. It was something more than a metaphor – He was claiming deity. We understand from Exodus 3:14 that this is the same title God the father gave himself.

These claims are so powerful and bold that they arrest your attention and cause you to think.

I am the Bread of Life

John 6:35: Jesus said to them, I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall…

View original post 1,006 more words

